Le Royaume D'Irlande Divise en Ses Grandes Provinces

Method Copper engraved with hand colour
Artist Bossuet, Jacques-Bénigne
Published [Francois L'Honoré & Fils. Amsterdam, 1738]
Dimensions 127 x 164 mm
Notes A map of Ireland, oriented with west to top, and with notable towns and cities included. The boundaries of the four provinces of Ulster, Leinster, Munster, and Connacht are outlined in hand colour. Engraved by Bossuet in the style of Nicolas Sanson, the map is likely from "Continuation de L'Histoire Universelle de Messire Jacques-Benigne Bossuet," published by Francois L'Honoré & Fils. Amsterdam 1738. Numbered '13' to top right corner.

Jacques-Benigne Bossuet (1627 – 1704) was a French bishop and theologian. He was appointed tutor to the nine-year-old Dauphin, oldest child of Louis XIV. Bossuet's tutorial functions involved composing all the necessary books of instruction, including manuals of philosophy, history, and religion fit for a future king of France. Bossuet wrote many books in his lifetime, notable titles include 'Traité de la connaissance de Dieu et de soi-même' (1677), 'Discours sur l'histoire universelle' (1679, published 1682), and 'Politique tirée de l'Ecriture Sainte' (1679, published 1709). His works contained a few maps fashioned on the work of Nicolas Sanson and were published well into the 18th century.

Condition: Vertical folds as issued. Professionally repaired wormhole to bottom left corner of sheet, not affecting map.
Framing unmounted
Price £80.00
Stock ID 46840