The Metropolitan Boroughs, As Defined by the Reform Bill.

Method Copper engraved
Artist Dawson, Robert Kearsley
Published 1832
Dimensions 610 x 505 mm
Notes A scarce plan of the City of London produced after the Reform Bill of 1831/32 that established the metropolitan boroughs of London. The map extends from Tottenham in the north, West Ham in the east, south to Norwood and west to Kensington, on a scale of two inches to the Mile. To the top of the map are the arms of London and Westminster and to the bottom left is a list of 'liberties' - the name given to areas exempt from the jurisdiction of the country sheriff, being subject to a separate commission of the peace (in this case royal and governmental authorities).

Howgego 338

Condition: Pressed horizontal and vertical folds as issued, repaired tear to left centre of map and bottom centre fold. Strengthened with archival tissue. Pencil grid to bottom right.
Framing unmounted
Price £425.00
Stock ID 30991